The Year in Film.

Greetings all, today’s post features a few of my favourite films of 2012.  Don’t worry, I’m not gonna be incredibly critical or be giving anything away so if you haven’t seen them yet, do not fear. These are a few of the films that if you haven’t seen yet, you should go see! To be fair, I haven’t seen that many films from 2012 and I’ve a good few to catch up on including Lincoln, Silver Linings Playbook, The Master and The Sessions to name a few but some are not out yet in Ireland so it’s a waiting game. I don’t go to the cinema that often but when I do I try to make sure it’s one that is worth the price (which is freakin’ steep by the way!). Below are a few that I really enjoyed watching…

Looper-JGL-field

First up is Looper, a film I was very apprehensive about because I got incredibly confused from the trailer and I thought crap now, I’m gonna have to ask my boyfriend 101 questions during the film. Well, it turned out to be pretty straight forward actually and its complicated in a sort of simplistic way if that makes sense. Joseph Gordon-Levitt plays a younger Bruce Willis (his character title is Joe) and there is a cute little kid thrown in the mix to pull at the heart-strings.

daniel-craig-skyfall3

Next is Skyfall, which I seen recently. Whether we like the whole Bond franchise or not, I never miss any of the films when they come out not for any real reason in particular but just because I’ve been doing it for so long. Being honest, I can’t really remember the last few ones with Daniel Craig as 007 but Skyfall is just a little different that the last few. It’s like Bond returning to its roots, with more meaning and substance than other Bond movies. I’d go as far to say that its one I’d love to see again for a second viewing. Lets have more of you Sam Mendes for the next one! What did you make of it?

image_001

Argo was the film I had very high expectations because of the cast and plot. And it really did not let me down. To me, it was the storytelling aspect of this film that really stood out, it was incredibly believable and honest with all the actors ( including the stellar John Goodman) respecting each role perfectly and allowing for the viewer to become absorbed in the action until the final few minutes. Even though I knew the outcome, I was on the edge of my seat at the end. As Ben Affleck pointed out that when viewers see at the beginning that the film is based on a true story they invest more into it and I loved the fact that it ACTUALLY was real and my attention wasn’t all for nothing.

So what are some of your big-budget favourites from 2012? Have you seen any of these? Let me know!

Images from IMDB and Warner Bros.

2 thoughts on “The Year in Film.

  1. I love how skyfall had so much more of an emotional connection between its characters and the audience. Sure it’s still pretty cliche but its definitely a stand out from the rest of the Bond line up. I’m amazed by Ben affleck’s ability to direct and act simultaneously and the pure honesty of argo’s story really resonated with me. Too many movies to see! But les miserable is probably topping my list.

Leave a Reply

