Cetaphil Daily Facial Cleanser Review.

IMG_5341

I’m having a bit of a hard time giving this product the thumbs up because of my experience using it. As we all know, beauty and the products that go with it are a very individual experience. This cleanser is dermalogically recommended for normal to oily skin. Now my skin is normal enough with dryness from time to time. So I guess, it’s probably not best suited to me anyway. However, I still gave it a lash after reading loads of reviews on it.

It aims to remove makeup, dirt and surface oils without being too harsh or without leaving residue.  I’ve used it a good few times (not consistently) and found that while its okish at removing traces of makeup and daily dirt, it leaves too squeaky clean a finish, almost like it’s been overly cleaned. And this squeaky finish is not reflective of all makeup being removed. Unlike my Clinique Liquid Facial Soap, it doesn’t create a nice lather. The smell gets a tad annoying after a while, but thats just my personal opinion!

IMG_5343

After using water to rinse off the product, I always notice my face is left too taught and dry. And this bugs me so much. Should I be left with such a tightness? NO WAY! With its pump action, I find I can sometimes take out a little too much product than is needed. It’s also not a very portable option, because when you attempt to close the pump you obviously eject some product. Bit annoying, like.

Overall, I think I’ll not be doing much with this bar putting it away in the beauty archives. It’s definitely not one I’ll be recommending to all my fellow beauty lovers! What do you think folks? Have you tried Cetaphil?

3 thoughts on “Cetaphil Daily Facial Cleanser Review.

  1. I use to use Cetaphil all the time because it was good for not breaking me out. However, you are right about the super drying qualities. It’s not as bad as a lot of “oily skin cleansers”, but it still made my skin a little tight. You do however get a lot for a decent price, which isn’t always the case with cleansers from upper end boutiques, and there often coupons for it. The no lather was always kind of weird to me too, but I always figured it maybe had less chemicals or something? I started using Liz Earle’s Hot Polish Cleanser just this week instead of the Cetaphil, and I feel like my skin is a lot less dry as a result. We’ll see if I like it enough to justify the cost. 😉 Have a nice day.

  2. Pingback: A new cleanser: Lancome Comforting Cleansing Milk for Dry Skin. | TooManyMuffins

Leave a Reply

